Advisory Network

We work closely with experts from across industry, academia, research organisations and Government.

Our Advisory Network brings together the sector’s diverse expert community to advise and make recommendations to the ATI on a wide variety of topics, structured through six Advisory Groups. 

Each Advisory Group is chaired by the ATI with membership made up of senior representatives across industry, RTOs, academia and government from all corners of the UK. Advisory Groups meet at least quarterly, with the aim of discussing and advising on topics such as the challenges and opportunities that the aerospace sector is currently facing, and the development of technology roadmaps. We bring all six groups together annually to promote information sharing and debate.

Technology Advisory Group (TAG)

The TAG feeds into our technology strategy for UK aerospace and the ATI Programme. It also provides leadership and guidance to the other Advisory Groups. 

Mark Bentall Airbus
Hannah Tew Connected Places Catapult 
Iain Gray Cranfield University
Peter Allsopp GE Aerospace 
Justin Dalton GKN Aerospace
Sam Turner High Value Manufacturing Catapult 
Alan Newby Rolls-Royce
Giovanni Raimondi Safran
Jahan Ali Spirit AeroSystems
Tony Harper UKRI Faraday Battery Challenge
Gary Cutts UKRI Future Flight Challenge 
Simon Webb Warwick Manufacturing Group
Gabriele Teofilo ZeroAvia

Zero Carbon Technology Advisory Group (ZC-TAG)​

The primary role of the ZC-TAG is to inform our zero-carbon-emission aircraft technology strategy which includes roadmaps for hydrogen-powered and electric aircraft.

Simon Cozens Airbus
Kalyani Menon Collins Aerospace
Jenny Kavanagh Cranfield Aerospace Solutions
Jonathan Chestney Dowty Propellers
Mukesh Patel Evolito
Max Brown GKN Aerospace
Darren James Greenjets
Mike Durham Hybrid Air Vehicles
Chris Dudfield Intelligent Energy
Edward Goddard Leonardo
Jon Carotte Loughborough University
Tom Halhead Parker Meggitt
Marc Arstall Reaction Engines
Ken Young Rolls-Royce
Neil Webster Safran
Chris Hughes Spirit AeroSystems
Cesare Hall University of Cambridge
Chris Gerada University of Nottingham
Phil Whiffin Warwick Manufacturing Group
Julian Renz ZeroAvia

Cross-Cutting Technology Advisory Group (CC-TAG)​

The CC-TAG helps to inform our cross-cutting enabling technology strategy, including capabilities for whole aircraft design and analysis, manufacturing and assembly, operations and end-of-life.

David Belfourd Airbus
Donna Dykeman Ansys
Harpinder Phull Boeing
Mark Jones Brunel University
Stella Job Grazebrook Innovation
Okechukwu Okorie University of Exeter
Peter Hopkinson University of Exeter 
Tim Hope GKN Aerospace
Philip Scott Hamble Aerostructures
Russell Hall High Value Manufacturing Catapult
Sam Turner High Value Manufacturing Catapult
Christopher Hood Parker Meggitt
Colm Higgins Queen’s University Belfast
Richard Varvill Reaction Engines
Alison Gamble Rolls-Royce
Alan Moore Spirit AeroSystems
Kathy Christofidou University of Sheffield

Modelling Advisory Group (MAG)​

The MAG helps to inform our modelling strategy for the development of aircraft, market and sustainability models.​

Chris Lynas Airbus
John Gorman CAA
Philip Blagden CAA
Darrell Swanson Consultant
Deborah Thomas Easyjet
Ian Ephgrave GE
Norman Wood GKN Aerospace
Mark Stettler Imperial College London
James Cole Mott Macdonald
Pedro Cabrita Rolls-Royce
Prof. Andreas Schaefer University College London
Graham Pullan University of Cambridge
Alex Rap University of Leeds
John Doherty University of Surrey
Matthew Orchard Zero Emissions Aerospace

Sustainability Advisory Group (SAG)​

The SAG provides an objective and neutral view of the environmental impact of aviation and the steps that need to be taken to reach Net Zero by 2050.

John Beasley Arup
Simon Earles Bristol Airport
James Cox (deputy) Bristol Airport
Helen Leadbetter Civil Aviation Authority
Panagiotis Loukinas (deputy) Civil Aviation Authority
Michael Pustlauk Equinor
Erik Britton Fathom Consulting
Brian Davidson Fathom Consulting
Stuart Hawksworth Health and Safety Executive
Ian Jopson NATS
Prof. Rob Miller University of Cambridge
Prof. Piers Forster University of Leeds

European Liaison Group

The ELG’s primary role is to understand and share information on international policy developments and programme opportunities.

Andy Phillips ADS
Steve Raynes Airbus
Allan Wake BAE Systems
Scott Pendry Cranfield Aerospace Solutions
Myles Taylor GE Aerospace
Adrian Bates GKN Aerospace
Joeri de Ruyter Honeywell Aerospace
Louise Mothersole Innovate UK
Justin Davies-Trigg Innovate UK
Gary Way Rolls-Royce
Neil Deighton Safran
Julia Jiggins Thales
Roger Gardner UK Aerospace Research Consortium